Friday Motorway Music™, November 18 – Zing, went the strings…

Compared to the rather similar picture heading this column two seeks ago, the head stock has a few more tuning pegs. ‘Cause today’s trip up the E47/E55 was accompanied by some sweet guitar playing!

I must confess that I had to look up the names of guitar parts – as my main instruments these days are Sonos systems or iPods, my guitar anatomy is a little rusty – especially in English. (Mind you, when I did play an instrument, mumble-mumble years ago, it was what Tom Lehrer has referred to as an 88-string guitar). And when I did, one of the pages had this basic information highlighted in a nice green box: “Despite their differences, electric and acoustic guitars are played the same way.” Which is relevant because below you’ll find that both types enlightened me this morning…

I also made a reference to Fleetwood Mac last – and I’ll do it again. Me, old? What??  I honestly don’t know why it took me so long to realise that Lindsay Buckingham is such an awesome guitar player, too – but at last I have found out.

If I should have added artists off the top of my head, other favourites could have been Bonnie Raitt, Mark Knopfler, Dave Stewart – all of which I have been lucky enough to hear live – as well as Carlos  Santana, Danish Poul Halberg and a lot more. The list is something like endless, isn’t it?

Today’s picks:

I’m So Afraid (live, The Dance) / Fleetwood Mac
Comfortably Numb (live, Fabulous Sound of Thunder) / Pink Floyd
Bring Me Some Water (live, Live… and Alone) / Melissa Etheridge

Photo courtesy of
FoXy_85 on Flickr.
Note: I flipped the photo 180°...
This entry was posted in Blog, English, Motorway Music™ List and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.