Monday Motorway Music™, July 4 – Jazz Time Again

Not the best of shots, but we did have front seats in comfortable chairs!

Not the best of shots, but we did have front seats in comfortable chairs! Yes, that’s my foot 🙂

We got started on this year’s Copenhagen Jazz Festival yesterday – with what you probably could call a Sunday matinee.  Started at 3pm – or “A quarter past breakfast, jazz time” as it says on the sleeve notes of one of the Diana Krall albums. On was Danish singer Sidsel Storm with an accompanying quartet (making it, actually, a quintet…), musicians that she has played with a lot. And you can surely hear that!

I wrote last year about the quality of musicians typically found on jazz stages – and actually had to look that post up and check the photo. Yep, same drummer. Snorre Kirk, he’s called – and man, he’s sharp. Absolutely a guy who plays rather than hits the drums. And now I will of course have to make up my mind whether I find Snorre Kirk or my usual favourite drummer, Morten Lund, to be top of the heap. I haven’t actually got Morten Lund on my shortlist for concerts this year – may have to look into that!

Also, Magnus Hjorth (p), Jesper Thorn (b) and Tobias Wiklund (flgn) all absolutely deserved praise and were a joy to listen to. I don’t know what it is with flugelhorns – they just suit me better than trumpets 🙂

But an absolutely agreeable afternoon in central Copenhagen, luckily moved indoor – the showers that came down while we were there were just about violent and even included pelting hail at some points.

So, in the kitchen this morning while doing breakfast, I was listening to Sidsel Storm on Spotify (yay, Premium subscription on the Sonos!). That didn’t go in the car, though –

Comfortably Numb (live) – Pink Floyd
I Can Hear Your Heart Beat – Chris Rea
Get Out Of Your Lazy Bed – Matt Bianco
Dark Eyes – Donny Monro
Abracadabra – Steve Miller Band

Photo by me.
This entry was posted in Motorway Music™ List, Music, Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

