Words I’ve loved to have written…

Skærmbillede 2015-11-22 kl. 21.26.15

This, to me, is not eloquence or the kind of word-smithing where you feel your breath go “pfooosh” in awe over the elegance. This is simple emotion, raw longing and heartbreak. In a nicely quiet desperate way.

I get along without you very well
Of course, I do
Except perhaps in Spring
But I should never think of Spring
For that would surely break my heart in two
Hoagy Carmichael; lyrics based on a poem written by Jane Brown Thompson

And when Diana Krall sings it like she does in Live in Paris, hairs on my arms do have a tendency to stand up.

(But going down over the long list of recordings, I should probably check … oh, Old Blue Eyes, Billie Holiday, Peggie Lee and Carly Simon. At least…)

At least, with us having had 30 cm of snow or so and with the forecast on frost for tonight and tomorrow, not thinking of spring should be relatively easy 😉

Picture off the Diana Krall Live in Paris DVD that I honestly own.
This entry was posted in Music, Musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Words I’ve loved to have written…

  1. HeavyCloud says:

    Beautiful. There is always a spring to come, at least we all hope so. Thus, some thoughts can fall asleep for a little while but they are destined to wake up again. Thank you for this one and good luck with the frost!

Leave a Reply

