Close.

IMG_2120Heard an old song today
One from way back then
And I realised that, yet today
That song is still about someone
Even if the someone is not the same

A song about being close
Just like you and I were close
– to being close.

Not quite. Almost.
Close.
Something I know about.

I spent the few minutes of the song
Reminiscing
Remembering
And halfway smiling.

I looked at it from a distance in time
And turned it around in my head
And realised that even if it was only close
Still, it was what I wanted.

But now
Well, that door is –
Closed.
I don’t know if I could open it
I don’t know if you’d still be on the other side of it.

But I’d like to think you would be
And that you would reach out and pull me
Close
While we finally let that door
Close.

4962728488_dcffe5f846_z

 

Top photo modified from Outside In by Colin Jagoe on Flickr.
Bottom photo by Snipps Whispers on Flickr.
This entry was posted in English, Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

