A Musical Statistically Improbable Coincidence Involving Bicycling

Now, if I were writing clickbait for the Internet, I probably couldn’t have done much better, could I? 😉

It’s really just as it says. Biking home today, I heard the same song as the time before on the exact same stretch of the route. Given that I have heard music in between the rides several times and that I start the list with “Mix” on every occurence, it is rather random, innit?

There are exactly 800 songs in that list. So to get the same song twice, we’re at a probability of –

Skærmbillede 2015-06-09 kl. 20.49.33

 

or something like 1.5 in a million. (Yeah, yeah – 1.56 or closer to 1.6 than 1.5, but to normal human beings, one and a half is a thing while one point six isn’t). And that probability is without including the time element – playing right at that time of the ride.

The song? “Holding Out for a Hero “/ Bonnie Tyler –

Where have all the good men gone
And where are all the gods?
Where’s the street-wise Hercules
To fight the rising odds?
Isn’t there a white knight upon a fiery steed?

Now, in Danish, a bicycle is sometimes called an iron horse. Mine’s 15 years old or so – a pretty good age for a horse, I reckon. And … Hercules? Gods? A white knight? Well, looking down at me, there on the forest path –

Yes, that’s a white thing I’m wearing. While I am sillily biking along an uneven path and trying to shoot photos with my phone at the same time. No, that’s not considered enough to be a white knight on a fiery steed?

Oh well 🙂

Aside | This entry was posted in Music, Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

