(Delayed) Monday Motorway Music™, May 25 – Day Off, Traveling Day, Towel Day

IMG_7383

This post was actually written on Monday, late, in a plane – but got stuck in hampered uploading and image adding due to travels. Life, don’t talk to me about life… 😉

No regular motorway driving to work – this Monday was Pentecost (or Whitsun, if you will) and thus a national (bank) holiday.

Still, a bit of being in the car on motorways – as my son was kind enough to drive me to the airport for my evening flight to Paris. A meeting outside Paris with a schedule making same-day morning and evening flights possible but in case anything went slightly unhinged also rather unlikely. Hence flying down the evening before and home the morning after.

Which not only allowed me a drive with music for this weekly column but also will grant me an evening in Paris – a city that I do love. And, by utter coincidence, is reading about:

“If you are lucky enough to have lived in Paris as a young man, then wherever you go for the rest of your life, it stays with you, for Paris is a moveable feast.”
Ernest Hemingway: “A Moveable Feast.

And man, could he write. This is simply as strong a picture of what being a writer is as I have ever come across, I think – and I also think that that much of a writer is beyond my genetic makeup:

“I’ve seen you, beauty, and you belong to me now, whoever you are waiting for and if I never see you again, I thought. You belong to me and all Paris belongs to me and I belong to this notebook and this pencil.”

But this Monday was also a third way special. Towel Day, in fond memory of Douglas Adams – for whom I have great admiration for his immense mastery of the language:

“For a moment, nothing happened.
Then, after a second or so, nothing continued to happen.” Douglas Adams. “Ultimate Hitchhikers Guide.”

Actually, I don’t think you can write that. But he did and I crack up every time I read it and am happy that his twisted (in a good way, mind you) mind wrote that and enriched the world.

17640_10205775565286867_1627239593506356489_nSo I support and participate in Towel Day. And as a little silliness goes along very well, I believe, with the memory of Douglas Adams, I have taken my Goo-blue (those who knows what that colour is, will know what I am talking about) Don’t Panic towel along on my trip and am doing a wee photo story about it elsewhere on the net. Just one picture here to let you glimpse the level of happy sillyness.

Stairway to Heaven – Heart (Kennedy Center Honors)
Jailhouse Rock – Elvis Presley
Never Ever – All Saints
You Sexy Thing – Hot Chocolate

Photos by me.
This entry was posted in Motorway Music™ List, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

