Monday Motorway Music™, February 16 – Down-shifting

Billede 16-02-15 08.32.18

This set of wheels has served us very well for more or less on the dot four years now. When we were scouting it out, the sales guy at the dealership called this model “our best driving machine” – and I am not going to contradict him. Two liter diesel, the signature Citröen hydraulic suspension… Wrrrroooom 🙂

But we’ve been discussing for a while that it is a bit on the large side, given that we do not have a dog anymore, only have one kid still living at home and most of the driving is just me in the car to and back from work.

So this morning was really the farewell drive – ok, I’ll drive it down to the dealership this afternoon to hand it in and get the new one in return. But still…

We’re taking it one notch down, from C5 station wagon to a C4. Still diesel – but the new one with a 6-speed electronic automatic/manual gear shift. Should be ok good fun – even if it’s not as explosive as its dynamite namesake… And nominally should run 30% longer on the precious drops of fuel.

What I should have listened to on the way this morning, of course, was this:

The machine of a dream, such a clean machine,
With the pistons a pumpin’, and the hubcaps all gleam.
When I’m holding your wheel,
All I hear is your gear,
When my hand’s on your grease gun,
Oh it’s like a disease son,
I’m in love with my car, gotta feel for my automobile
Queen, I’m In Love With My Car

But what the list held was this – quite a good fanfare as goodbye, anyway:

You Shook Me All Night Long – AC/DC
(I Just) Died In Your Arms Tonight – Cutting Crew
Hot! – Nik & Jay
Tush – Joan Jett
I’m On My Way – The Proclaimers
Don’t Get Me Wrong  – The Pretenders
Cherry Bomb – Joan Jett & The Blackhearts

Photo by me.
This entry was posted in Motorway Music™ List, Music, Photos, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

