Monday Motorway Music™, October 7 – Up there, then down here!

Up, up and away

I took a ferry to the highway
Then I drove to a pontoon plane
I took a plane to a taxi
And a taxi to a train
I’ve been traveling so long
How am I ever going to know my home
When I see it again
I’m like a black crow flying
In a blue, blue sky
Diana Krall, Black Crow (by Joni Mitchell)

It’s been a bit like that. 3 trips, including 8 flights and a train ride. In two weeks. If you look at my arm as if you’d have an idea about twisting it, I could be persuaded to agree that it was overdoing it a little bit. Somehow autumns tend to go travel-mad that way…

Funnily enough, referring to the lyrics above, I did see my home – the general area, at least – from above. Not as a black crow but one of the homecoming flights (errrm, can’t actually tell you which one) had us coming in over the general area where I live on the approach to CPH. I did wave down!

And before you question my sanity too much, I always recognise my home. And the fuzzy, warm feeling of belonging there certainly easily overmatches anything related to a hotel room. Which probably explain why, while knowing perfectly well that my room in München was on the third floor, down to the end of the corridor and on the right hand side, I did end up giving the wrong room number to the lady in the breakfast room. So many rooms, so many numbers 😉

Overall, good trips though. Was with a fab team in Odessa and had some fun at the Oktoberfest in München. And some good business there, too. But October looks grounded and that is actually OK with me.

A nice and quiet list – a little longer than just covering the drive as I let the music play on (who get’s the music reference first?) as I started the office day:

Rehab – Barbara Mendes
Lonesome Avenue- Gasolin’
Songbird – Fleetwood Mac
If You Leave Me Now – Chicago
True Love – Bing Crosby & Grace Kelly
I Got You Babe – UB40 w/Chrissie Hynde
In A Sentimental Mood – Sinne Eeg
L’Amour Looks Something Like You – Kate Bush
My Melancholy Blues – Queen
If I Had You – Diana Krall
Backwards – Lars H.U.G (and Lisa Ekdahl)

Image by me.
 
This entry was posted in Blog, English, Motorway Music™ List, Music, Photos, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

