Monday Bicycle Music™, August 26 – back in the saddle

2013-08-26 07.24.58

What a diff’rence a day made
Twenty-four little hours
Brought the sun and the flowers
Where there used to be rain

This lovely late 50s Dinah Washington song (ok, I know it’s way older than that and also that some youngsters may think that it’s a Jamie Cullum song) came into my mind when I got to work today. I admit, the references are a bit farfetched – that’s just how it is with me and music: it doesn’t take much to make a song pop up!

The difference being made has taken a good deal more than 24 hours – five weeks or so, actually. I am not unhappy about that – as, contrary to the song’s change for love and the better, the five weeks apparently was what it took for me to fall out of love with my bike. At least, that’s the message I got from my thigh muscles this morning 😉

Of course, the culprit was mostly the two and a half week’s – otherwise phenomenal – vacation in the US. Far too much sitting (we drove an estimated 3000 km / 1860 miles) and, even more to the point, far too much eating.

Still, I was actually in pretty good shape before the vacations, so it was a bit gruesome how much of that had fallen by the wayside. No fluid cadence up those hills – slugging it out is probably more of a correct description.

Stanley Adams’ lyrics points to sunshine and better times – the sun indeed was up and about in what is an unexpected and rare exceptional late summer in Denmark. In the photo above, there’s actually a single rowing boat out on the perfectly still lake – a beautiful sight that I just had to stop for.

And, there may be glimmers of hope – after the first 12 km of the morning ride, I actually did get into something of a rhythm that made the hills disappear a little easier. And with the weather, I am certainly planning for another biking day later in the week 🙂

And hey – a slow ride means more time for music:

Igen & Igen & – Nephew
Fading Like A Flower – Roxette
Love Hurts – Joan Jett
Cocaine – J.J. Cale
Livin’ On A Prayer – Bon Jovi
Tusk (live) – Fleetwood Mac
What Is Love – Haddaway
I’ll Be Missing You – Puff Daddy feat. Faith Evans & 112
Stay The Night – Chicago
Backwards – Lars H.U.G & Lisa Ekdahl
Secret Agent – Melissa Etheridge
Beat It – Michael Jackson
Teo Toriate – Queen
Who Do You Think You Are – Spice Girls
and, finally, very fitting to today’s theme…
I Will Survive – Gloria Gaynor

Image by me.
 
This entry was posted in Blog, English, Motorway Music™ List, Music, Photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

