Friday Motorway Music™, December 7 – Waking Up Is Hard To Do

Driiiing!

Yes, that title is an awful pun on a good old song – take your pick from Neil Sedaka or The Carpenters as the artist (the version in my collection is the latter – and Bob, can I already feel the backlash on that confession, based on the flak I took about publicly stating recently that I actually occasionally listen to – and enjoy – Barry Manilow… ;))

And anyway, as I am wont to do, there is some artistic freedom in the statement as well. From a “mechanical” viewpoint, I do not have any trouble waking up at all. The alarm goes off (yes, at an un-Bob-ly hour) and I get up. That’s it. Only very rarely does the alarm sound last for more than ten or twenty seconds, then it’s turned off and I have two feet on the floor and am paddling along towards the bathroom.

My wife would likely testify that I am perfectly capable of getting out of bed, putting on clothes, surviving the 15 steps from first floor to ground floor AND walking the dog without really, truly waking up. There may be some truth in that…

And this, of course is where music comes in. To be honest, before I got to the motorway part today – and yes, I do make sure that I am awake enough to drive safely! – both Joan Jett’s “Bad Reputation” and Ramones’ “Sheena Is A Punk Rocker” were involved.

On the motorway, this is what kept me awake and singing along today:

San Francisco Bay Blues (Unplugged) – Eric Clapton
From Now On – Supertramp
The Boys Are Back In Town – Thin Lizzy
You’ve Got A Friend – Carole King
Fascination – Alphabeat
God Is A DJ – Pink

Image courtesy of  Domiriel on Flickr
This entry was posted in Blog, English, Motorway Music™ List, Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

