Tuesday Motorway Music™, August 14 – the shift that shafted the plan

Even the best laid plans and all that. Got on my bicycle this morning, enjoying the whispery feathers of pink-orange clouds in an otherwise blue sky. And turned back and parked the bike, got into regular clothes and took the car. My front derailleur – the front gear shift on a bicycle in layman’s terms – is screwed😦

At least, it doesn’t shift downwards – whether it’s the cable, the adjustment or the grip shift remains unclear. Worked normally on the 2×10 km I did Sunday night. Puzzling. And irritating as hell!

And I do need it – for the “mountains” on my route. Some would say that Denmark do not possess any of these (and, honestly, would be right). But following the Oxford English Dictionary, a mountain is “a natural elevation of the earth surface rising more or less abruptly from the surrounding level and attaining an altitude which, relatively to the adjacent elevation, is impressive or notable.” And as I do most certainly consider my en-route “mountains” noticeable, they are that. And for those, I do need to be able to shift down to my smallest chain wheel. So there.

Nevertheless, once I got to work, I was happy to hear that my colleague Anders who succesfully swam, biked and ran throughout the Copenhagen Iron Man in the weekend did not have that sort of mechanical issues. In the light of what he successfully fought through, my irritation is just a minor thing, easily brushed aside. Much, much respect for his endeavours (and, shhh, I am actually happy that it wasn’t me).

The song that kicked off my few hundred bicycling meters and then some from the car trip:

Tredie til højre – Østkyst Hustlers
Call Me Maybe – Carla Ray Jepsen (summer and scouting jamboree hit)
Beat It – Michael Jackson
Lady Marmalade – Patti Labelle (must mix it with the Moulin Rouge version on DJay once)
Wish You Were Here – Fleetwood Mac
Ain’t No Mountain High Enough – Zindy Kuku Boogaloo
Captain Clutch & hans crew – C.V. Jørgensen

Image courtesy of Ben Newell on Flickr
 
This entry was posted in Blog, English, Motorway Music™ List, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

