… makes the World go around

20110329-205036.jpg

Liza Minelli had her meaning of what makes the World go around:

Money makes the world go around
The world go around
The world go around
Money makes the world go around
It makes the world go ’round. 

 But I beg to differ. I know that other people also will have their opinions, same or different. Power, sex, religion – you make your own pick. My world turns, I have come to realise, by passion.

Realisation came by, as I guess is often the case, by a rather mundane chain of event. In the actual case, over a rather good 14 oz. rib-eye, eaten in the company of a good colleague.

Many, many times I have been in the situation that I have talked more than I eat. Tonight, my colleague said with a grin that it certainly is the main reason for me staying so thin. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

But on leaving the restaurant and, back inside the hotel, turning the corner to the elevators, it struck me that when I do that, it’s because I feel something for what I am talking about.

And turning that thought over on the way to the 10th floor, I realised that when I get lost in something – a task, a conversation, an event, whatever – it’s because something strikes a chord. Generates a spark. Triggers a passion.

Passion is what makes my world go around.

Actually, passions. ‘Cause there are more than one of them in my life, luckily. Now I just have to work on spotting them, harnessing them, channelling them, wringing every last drop of energy out of them. Because that is what will allow me to get the most out of them. And, not less importantly, will allow me to generate more of them. So it becomes a perpetual motion, passion upon passion.

Damn, how it will make my World turn around!

Photo courtesy of Alex No Logo on Flickr
This entry was posted in Blog, English, Rants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

