Three-letter words

1054158006_80a51066cc

No, I’m not talking about four-letter words less one; neither do I want to swear nor have I lost my ability to count Smiley, der blinker

Inspired by a friend’s stenographic travel message: EDI – LHR – WAW the other day, I started thinking a little about my experience with airports in general and airport codes in particular. Bob knows I’ve seen enough of both. My travel agents, I fear, are mainly polite and kindly let me know that yes, it does make their lives easier when I mail them a stream of three-letter words (and dates). Most likely, it does make their life more better in comparison to customers shouting four-letter words…

Anyway. Airports and airport codes. Likes and dislikes. Discuss. A worthy essay challenge for a travelomaniac.

Preferred airports:

CPH Home sweet home. Always nice to get (back) to, of course. But also, I find, a nice airport. Most likely madly expensive with foreign eyes. But hey, this is Denmark…
SIN (this one will be in a list later, too – promise!)
Changi is a good airport. Back before I had good (company paid!) roaming service for commercial wireless internet providers, Changi was there with the island of desks with free internet access. Meaning chats with the ones at home, updates on h2g2 and all that jazz.
AMS Like CPH, the train connections are good – here it’s virtually in the basement. But the airport in general is fine. It’s big, though – if you have to cross if from one corner to the opposite to change flights, it does feel as if you walk far enough that it actually makes the flight sort of superficial.

NOT preferred airports:

LHR First time I went to GLA it was back in  the days where you had to customs clear your luggage on first setting foot on the British Isles. (Yeah, I’m old. I know)
I spent one hour twenty minutes (out of one hour forty between flights) waiting for said luggage. While staring at a huge poster across from the carousel boldly claiming “London Heathrow. World’s most successful airport”. And then they berated me for running in late for my shuttle to GLA.
FRA Most consistent airport in terms of waylaying my luggage. Done it to me at least twice, though luckily the good fairies have been behind me and made sure it was on the way home. So far, in twenty years of travel I’ve never lost my luggage outbound (*touches LOTS of wood*)
ORD Several flights from Scandinavia and a flurry from Asia seem to land at the same time. And most of the passengers seem to make a run for it to get to the immigration lines before me. Bob, they can be long, those lines.
And the facililties in terminal 5 (international) is just yawn, boring. A small food court with fast food, a rather small duty free store. And on good evenings a pop corn / soft drink stall. That’s about it. No decent bar or restaurant for a decent meal before an evening flight back to CPH.

And for the top list of my favoured airport codes:

SIN (said it would be here). Can’t deny that it’s just a straightforward dodgy one …
GRU Requires a working knowledge of Danish. “Gru” means “horror”. Sao Paolo is a place I love flying to, so I can’t claim any travel horrors associated with it.
GRR Never flown there, but checked out flights to it recently (but ended up going Delta to DTW as usual – I tried all I could to find an equally convenient and preferably Star Alliance based route to Michigan but failed)
YYZ Was Toronto just very late in signing up to get a code? Oh, we’re sorry but all there’s left are these random codes from the end of the alphabet…
Photo courtesy of Mamboman1 / Rainer Hungershausen on Flickr
This entry was posted in Blog, CFR, English, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

